why is it?

Why is it so hard to do the things that serve and nourish us?

Why is it so hard to step out of the habits that leave us stressed out?

I’m sure there are plenty of people with theories about this, but when I sit with it more, actually the question I am more interested in answering is this –

How do I choose the habits and uses of my time that do nourish me?

How do I set down the “list of things to do” and draw or practice my drum or take a long bath soaking with some calendula and lavender?

One thing I know to be true is that I am much better at keeping promises to other people than I am at keeping promises to myself. Being accountable to someone else works for me. But there are things such as taking flower essences or making herbal infusions that seem silly to promise someone else I’m going to take. But then I find that I’m not taking my herbs and wonder why I feel a little bit frazzled and under-nourished.

I’m certain that attention and intention are key to this dilemma, and I’ll let you know if I figure it out, but maybe it’s just the continual recommitment.  So here I am, recommitting to a daily herbal infusion. Here I am recommitting to taking my flower essences. Here I am recommitting to carve out more space for my creativity.

And you? What are the things that you know are good for you (going to bed at a certain hour, eating or not eating certain foods, etc.) that just seem to elude you?

And what would you like to recommit to today?

Last year's garden bathing.

 

Leave a Reply

