good vs. evil

My husband has gone to the meeting to learn about letter writing to the BLM to attempt to stop the fracking lease/sale in February. Here is the link to a sample letter to the BLM for us to sign and send. http://www.citizensforahealthycommunity.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Sample-Letter-to-BLM-Feb.-2013-Lease-Sale.pdf

I am home, resting by the fire.

Yesterday I wrote the bulk of this while sitting by the North Fork of the Gunnison River Park in Paonia, CO:

There is a hum in the background.
Grinding.
Mixing.
Moving.
Engine.

We crest the edge of the river, gather for a moment to consider our next course of action.
Several stay at the edge and several more follow the main path down to the water. I linger – neither sitting nor walking but pausing. Noting the scene. Then I meander down the smaller path that called to me and greet the November river.

The water swirls more swiftly than it did in September and I can hear faint snatches of talking above its gentle burble.

This is not a spring river, though it is carrying snow-melt down from the hills.

I walk upstream and music becomes audible over the sound of the water; it is not familiar to me in singularity, but the genre is one I have heard the young adults play much this year.

One sits on a rock writing, one sits looking, one stands with notebook in hand. Two more gather. Low voices.

I understand the choice to listen to music, familiar and comforting. I might like one day to be a musician to whom folks listen to by the river.

And I ache for how cut off we are from the low sound of free flowing water; most do not even know that their life is devoid of this sound.

I approach the group, no plan in mind, unarmed. It is 12:11pm on a Tuesday. Nine minutes remain until we re-gather. The mud shows prints of dogs, deer and humans.

The sun is full on my face and I relish the warmth. There are tread tracks down to the water lengthening the boat ramp to the low flow in the river.

A log is thrown. Shout of triumph.

Stories are told but not written. We need recording devices faster than pen and paper to capture this experience.

Up-valley there is a light dusting of snow on the hills.

What is good and what is evil here when it comes to the gas leases and our cultural lifestyle? It would be easier to answer if it were externally embodied as plainly as in the stories; in this world the evil is much more subtle and, as always, lives in our hearts and our ignorance and I would say it also lives in our disconnect from nature.

There is an innocence in the trees and rocks, even in the eating of a mouse by an owl or the migration of a bird thousands of miles each year.

I wish that they would leave this valley without more drilling/taking/using from these hills. I prefer the permaculture version of interacting with the land – giving as well as taking. “Permaculture seeks the most efficient, beneficial, high yielding, low cost ways to do something, but never at the cost of peoples’ well-being, nor that of the environment or ecosystems.” http://www.wellspringpermaculture.com

I value clean air and clean water and would like to keep it clean, please.

 

Leave a Reply

