home again

I breathe a sigh of relief as we pull back in to the North Fork Valley in the beautiful Colorado. David says that he glimpsed a sense of how thoroughly it must feel like home to me to arrive back in the valley – we live across the street from the home that I lived in since I was two. He wouldn’t be able to find the house in New Orleans that he lived in at the age of two. Often I take it for granted, but today it all feels fresh. These mountains. This air. Yay!

It is surprisingly warm here and even the layer of dirt on the floor all through our house cannot stifle my enthusiasm at being home.

And so good to see our little black cat again.

a photo from is fall.

Interesting though to see the “list of things to do” rise up and claim attention after being unable to control things for the past three weeks, there are a number of things on the list. But so far, I can still feel the fun in it, it is what I choose to do with my time, after all. So, laundry never was so much fun – because it is in my washing machine and I get to hang it out to dry in the Colorado sun!

However, the lease/sale is back on the table, so it looks like we have to rally to preserve this valley and the way of life that I so love. Please take a minute and sign this petition. https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/withdraw-blm-oilgas-leases-colorados-premier-organic-farming-region-and-update-blms-25-year-old-land/cFjBGbDM

There are plenty of places in the world where humans have already destroyed the natural beauty and environment, I’d rather not add this one to the list.

2 thoughts on “home again

  1. Dear Arlyn~ It is definitely time to write and say thank you for all your posts. I have been moved and inspired so many times by them over the past years. I find myself fed by them. I am in deep gratitude for them. Jacque Jeffreys

Leave a Reply

