snapshot of this life in words

yesterday I joined a creativity circle with the goal being to help keep one another on track with our creative projects.

One of my goals is to blog twice a week, so here we go. . .

. . . . still going.

Ah, okay.

I’m sitting outside of my brother’s house with the new chickens. They are very good natured, quiet chickens, they are scratching and eating their last bit of dinner before bed-time. My mom described them as khafa chickens from the Ayurvedic system of body types. Which is to say that they are a little bit heavier and slower moving than the chickens at my house.

Now they climb into their hut and sit on their roosts and my mom comes to lock them in for the evening.

My husband (I’m still getting used to the term) and my brother just came home from picking up a used hot water heater – we’re looking for them to make solar hot water heaters. If you have one, we’ll take it, but no holes please.

The sun has just passed below the horizon and I can feel the chill beginning in my fingers and hope to be done blogging before it reaches my nose and toes.

I just had a request for a video of FEAST to send to some friends, so I thought I might post it here too. We leave for tour next Tuesday, alas we will not have a harpist – but I’ll be playing crash cymbals and other auxiliary percussion, which is lots of fun for me. Please tell your friends.

NOVEMBER 2012: “Celtic Music from the Rocky Mountains”
Nov. 9, 7:00 PM: Lebanon, Missouri; Kenneth E. Cowan Civic Center
Nov. 13, 7:00 PM: Austin, Minnesota; High School, RL Knowlton Aud.
Nov. 15, 7:30 PM: Columbus, Nebraska; High School, Nantkes PAC
Nov. 16, 7:30 PM: Grand Island, Nebraska; High School Aud.
Nov. 18, 3:00 PM: Colby, Kansas (matinee); Oakley HighSchool Aud.
Nov. 19, 7:00 PM: Raton, New Mexico (“Irish Thunder”); Shuler Theater
Nov. 20, 7:30 PM: Cheyenne, Wyoming; Central High School Aud.

I hear a cow in the distance, my mom’s cat claws at some cut apple wood, a crow caws, I hear voices in the distance, a chainsaw at my house (we picked up slab ends today) and I am so thankful for this beautiful valley that I live in. What a gift this sweet life is. I send my prayers to those living with the aftermath of the storm on the east coast.

Leave a Reply

