this

today
I want to crawl back into bed and stay there forever.
today it all feels like too much.

the emails and the calls and things that I should be doing, this is all swirling.

If I could knit together the pieces as I knit the wristwarmers.
If I could cook together the pieces as I cook the soup.
If I could clean the insides as I wash the dishes.

Last night I drank wine and tried on fancy dresses. I felt invincible – the women were there to tell me I looked fabulous.

Somehow the magic is gone and today I’m not sure about any of it.

It happens so fast.

The dark nights are here.

Starting now – it’s only 4:30 in the afternoon and the sun is behind the hills. I am very aware of the cracks in the windows and the places where the cold gets in.

this life.

and I read articles saying that we are going down, and that Americans want change but are addicts to the way things are and I agree. I know exactly how hard it is to step away from what is hurting you. I know exactly how hard it is to choose yoga over a cigarette. To choose going for a walk over playing on the computer. I know exactly how hard it is to be the sort of person that I want to be. And even harder still when everyone around me is telling me that if I drink this beer I will be stronger, healthier and more loved. They feed off our self-doubt. The economy requires it.

But I’m not buying.

Today, I’m making soup from organic veggies bought at my local co-op and grown by me and my father. I’m cooking millet that we grew and threshed all by ourselves. I’m knitting by the fire.

And crying.

Sometimes, I’m crying too.

One thought on “this

Leave a Reply

